Thursday, October 07, 2010

IHS Press Authors Finalists in Best Books Competition

IHS Press authors Wes D. Gehring and Elizabeth O'Maley have been named as finalists in the 2010 Best Books of Indiana contest sponsored by the Indiana Center for the Book. The contest was created to honor Indiana's long and illustrious literary heritage and recognize Hoosier authors.

Gehring is a finalist in the nonfiction category for his book Steve McQueen: The Great Escape. O'Maley is a finalist in the children/young adult category for her book By Freedom's Light.

Twelve titles, published between January 1 and December 31, 2009, have been selected as finalists in the 2010 competition. A panel of judges in each of four categories considered all entries and granted awards at their discretion. The winners will be announced on or before Friday, October 15, 2010.

All current and past Best Books entries are available in the Indiana State Library's collections. Two copies of each entry circulate to State Library patrons and are available to most public, school, and academic libraries in Indiana via interlibrary loan. One copy does not circulate and remains in the State Library's collections indefinitely

No comments: